Lock will stop any new users logging into an Access 2000/2002/2003 database. This is useful when you are trying to get everyone off a database for maintenance or installations. Existing users will still need to be removed by asking them (politely) to shut down their Access session or by using the Administration options. The Lock checkbox only appears for Access 2000 and 2002/2003 databases.
Figure 1 - The lock checkbox will stop new people logging into a database
The database lock will be disabled as soon as the workbench session is stopped or you clear the Lock checkbox. Figure 2 shows the message that you receive when you set the lock.
Figure 2 - Once you select the Lock checkbox, it places a locked message at the bottom of the screen.
If a user then tries to log into the database, they will receive the message displayed in Figure 3.
Figure 3 - Users are prevented from logging into the database with the following message.
Note: You can also lock the database using the menu Database ~ Lock database so no one can use it. The Unlock menu item is also in this menu tree.
If you want to read about opening the database with the Exclusive lock on, click here. This is an alternative way to stop people using the database that only works if no one is using the database.
Other Access Workbench Topics